After receiving 2 e-mails and one phone call from the folks at The Houston Press that indicated they would REALLY like to see us at the award ceremony on Wednesday I had a strong suspicion that my band may have actually won this year.

At the risk of fatal disappointment, I asked my co-hosts on Technology Bytes to cover for me while I attended the award ceremony just to be on the safe side

There was a lot of buzz about The Tontons who were nominated for Best New Act. They even performed during one of the intermissions.

The Tontons did, in fact, win Best New Act

some of the other winners that evening:

Best Neo-Folk: Sideshow Tramps
Best Miscellaneous Instrument: Geoffrey Muller (Sideshow Tramps, Umbrella Man, Pistoleros de Tejas)

Best Bassist: Nick Gaitan (Umbrella Man, Billy Joe Shaver)

Best Punk: Los Skarnales
Best Rock en Espanol: Los Skarnales
Best Male Vocalist: Felipe Galvan (Los Skarnales)

And did I make the right choice abandoning my cohorts to attend the ceremony?

I can has Houston Press Music Award!

Unfortunately my bandmates could not attend the event so I celebrated for the five of us.

The complete winner’s list can be found here.

The rest of the pics are in the 2008 Houston Press Music Awards Gallery.

Houston Press Music Awards 2008 – The Results
Tagged on:         

7 thoughts on “Houston Press Music Awards 2008 – The Results

  • July 31, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Congratulations!!! So happy for you 🙂
    You deserve awards & lots of ’em!

  • Pingback:Thanks!

  • July 31, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Congrats to the Sailors! Perhaps the interpretive dance put you over the top.

  • July 31, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    YAY!!! Glad to see one of my 3 fave Houston bands get recognised! =)


  • July 31, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Woohoo! Congrats. 😀

  • July 31, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Congrats to the other Flying Fish Sailors!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.